TV Talking Heads Are Not Theologians

Talking heads do not make great theologians. If I am to believe Bill O’Reilly or Joe Scarborough,then I am to believe that the secularists in America are taking my Jesus from me by chanting “Happy Holidays” instead of “Merry Christmas”.

But don’t believe the hype. TV talking heads are not theologians. Why do well meaning Christians allow themselves to be manipulated by certain hypocrites in the media whose own TV bosses use the very slogans they are speaking out against? The apostle Paul reminds the church at Rome:

For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord. Romans 8:38-39 (NASB)

Jesus was not born so that you and I could celebrate a holiday He didn’t create Himself. In fact, He is far more honored and glorified in the lives of Christians whose hearts are fully surrendered to Him for the other 364 days of the years. We glorify our Lord and Savior when we refuse to bow to the golden calf of American materialism. By our lifestyles, we cry “Gloria in excelsis Deo” when we unshamedly proclaim the purpose of Jesus’s birth and why He is the greatest Gift that God the Father ever gave humanity.

We do greater justice to the Word and to our Lord by listening to Him than we do listening to TV talking heads trying to scare you into watching their program. And what exactly does Jesus promise to those who put their faith and trust in Him?

“My sheep hear My voice, and I know them, and they follow Me; and I give eternal life to them, and they will never perish; and no one will snatch them out of My hand. “My Father, who has given them to Me, is greater than all; and no one is able to snatch them out of the Father’s hand. John 10:28-29 (NASB)

That means Santa Claus, Happy Holidays signs, or even polemical talk show hosts can take Jesus from us or us from Him. Sit back and have yourself a MERRY CHRISTmas!

2 thoughts on “TV Talking Heads Are Not Theologians

  1. Are you still with us. Just saw “what would jesus buy” the other night — it was funny, a little over the top, but made the point. It also made me feel better about my conscious decision to not get caught up in the spending, shopping, mad rush that we call Christmas. I had started to feel a little down because I was feeling what the advertising tells me I should have been feeling.
    God Bless

Leave a Reply

