regenerate x

build.church.go

Kicking Against the Denominational Goads

leave a comment »

It’s been a while since I’ve written anything here simply because of my busy schedule at DC. One of the things I’ve been wrestling with is how to deal with ordination and licensing stuff for ministry. One of the big problems I have with licensing is that too often denominational polity is given much higher priority than foundational Christian orthodoxy when it comes to what a minister/pastor agrees to submit himself or herself to.

Something inside of me cringes at the thought of losing my ordination because I may not agree with a secondary issue that a particular denomination stresses to the nth degree. I find my insides kicking against such restraints.

I feel lost at times, out of step with much of contemporary “Christianity”—not Jesus. Oh well, hold fast to what is good and leave the rest in the dust. I need to hear some Keith Green right about now.

Written by missional girl

March 28, 2006 at 4:05 pm

Posted in Church Issues

Leave a Reply

