Good Friday Reflection

Am I masochistic for celebrating death? Then let it be so when it comes to Christ’s crucifixion. Through His sacrifice, humanity has the opportunity to be made whole and forgiven in the eyes of the Father.

It isn’t a tad bit ironic that we would even refer to today as “Good Friday”. After all, has any figure in human history ever been more comfortable with paradox than Jesus? He was God in diapers, the Son of God, yet He was born in less than a royal atmosphere. He was God in the flesh yet called a woman He created Mother. He was God the Son, holy and righteous, yet a friend of sinners and the arch enemy of empty religion. He was sinless and yet chose to bear the sins of humanity upon Himself.

“For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again.
No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.”
(John 10:17-18 ESV)

God the Son, holy, righteous, and sinless “became sin” for us that we would become the righteousness of God. In death, Jesus did for me what I could not do for myself.

I’m not in the mood to write a deep theological or exegetical reflection on all the Greek verb tenses used in the crucifixion narratives. I am only in the mood to say one thing to Jesus this day:

“Thank you.”

Leave a Reply

