regenerate x

build.church.go

Lamenting the Southern Baptist Pissing Contests

with 2 comments

I had planned to continue with my Psalm 119 post but it’s been a very busy day. I got a chance to talk with Leadership Network’s DJ Chuang about the ministry I’m a part of. Then there was Thursday night service, training, meeting, dinner. You get the picture.

I was just about to go to bed until I came across the following ridiculous story posted about The Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary’s “domestic” degrees.

Are they serious? I thought pissing contests among church leaders would abate in the face of rising poverty, gang violence, and broken families.

But silly me. I’ve been saying that since I was a young girl growing up in the 1980s under Reaganomics.

If discipling really took place in local churches as it should, Paige Patterson would have no excuse for this waste of computer space (wait, are girls even allowed to use the computers there except to type up mens’ sermon manuscripts?), paper, and time.

When I first sensed God leading me into full-time ministry, the first and only place I wanted to attend was Southern Seminary in Kentucky (and for an Indiana girl to want to cross Kentucky’s state line, that’s sayin’ something!).

But my youth pastor warned me away—and he was an ALUM!

Why?

He told me point blank: wrong gender, wrong color, wrong ministry philosophy, wrong gender.

What the gehenna happened to the SBC? I do understand the need to maintain an unwavering stance on essentials of the faith.

But the problem is that the SBC has choses to alienate some of their own on issues not essential to salvation.

And I just dare somebody to come on my blog and tell me that because I believe women can preach and *gasp* pastor that I am no longer a Christian.

I triple-dog dare someone to tell me that believing the gifts of the Holy Spirit are still in operation today proves I’m an apostate.

The time for pissing contests over non-essential issues needs to cease. Perhaps Dan Kimball can conduct a retreat for some SBCer to save them all the trouble of implementing a pointless, meaningless “degree.”

I am OUT!

Written by missional girl

August 10, 2007 at 5:33 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I came across your blog via the SBC Outpost comment section. Thank you for saying what a whole lot of us are feeling.

    It is a sad day when we baptists would rather be RIGHT than RIGHTEOUS, and would rather argue with one another than engage the needs of a dying world.

    Louis Johnson

    August 10, 2007 at 12:01 pm

  2. Louis said:
    It is a sad day when we baptists would rather be RIGHT than RIGHTEOUS, and would rather argue with one another than engage the needs of a dying world.

    louis, brother, i think YOU have nailed it right on the head with this insight…thanks for the comment!

    regeneratex

    August 10, 2007 at 1:23 pm


Leave a Reply

