regenerate x

build.church.go

Can We Please Redefine Authenticity?

with 2 comments

I’m reading another book unChristian by David Kinnaman and Gabe Lyons.  As I perused the stats on the contradictory views we Christians model before the world, I got to thinking about authenticity.

How many times have I visited church websites that all but glorify their brokenness?  Now don’t get me wrong.  I believe in being as transparent as possible, being open about where I am in the faith. 

But should authenticity stop at the problem and appear to make my problems a badge of honor?

The oft-quoted phrase “Nobody’s perfect” is straight dang skippy true.  But that should not be the period of the sentence.  Christ came to save us, empower us, and conform us into His image.

Paul reminded us that he was the chief of all sinners—but he didn’t stop there.

We need to follow his example and glory not in our “authenticity” but in the transforming power of the Holy Spirit to turn pimps and prostitutes into powerful preachers and menaces into godly mentors.

Let’s not forget that.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Written by missional girl

September 20, 2007 at 3:55 am

Posted in Just A Thought

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Excellent post. As I read it I considered two possibilities:

    (1) That those who wish to talk only (or even mainly) about their problems, areas of personal brokenness, etc. are doing so out of a misunderstanding of Paul’s statment that he would boast about his weaknesses (2 Cor. 12:9).

    (2) That they are putting a dangerous twist the statement in Hebrews that Jesus was tempted in every point like we ourselves are. In other words, by focusing on their own personal “issues,” they are trying to make Christianity more approachable by saying to the world: “Look at me! I’m just like you!”

    Louis Johnson

    September 20, 2007 at 1:18 pm

  2. “straight dang skippy true”….. I’ll have to remember that phrase.

    Amen, Sister!

    camey

    September 22, 2007 at 10:15 pm


Leave a Reply

