unChristian: Final Thoughts

I’m glad I read this book before I ever planted or pastored a church, gotten married or even had a baby.

I have to re-order my life and ministry in a way that honors and preaches Christ.  I want to lead a life that is a living epistle of Christ, not some cheap slogan rooted in cheap grace.

Just as God didn’t call me to be popular, He didn’t call me to be a jerk, annoying the living tar out of nonbelievers to the extent that my funky attitude speaks louder than the living Christ.

As heartrending as this book is, NextGen pastors and leaders need to wake up to the opportunities to introduce nonbelievers to the most innovative thing about the Church:

Jesus.

We need to back the jack away from any notion that our “hipness” or “innovation” are what draws people. 

Jesus makes it clear that if we lift Him up, He will draw all people to Himself (John 12:32).  We lift Him up by living, as the apostle Paul proclaims, the crucified life in which the resurrected Lord lives through us (Galatians 2:20).

Perhaps we the Church have lost our first love and instead substituted Christ for an adulterous affair with our own self-righteousness, turning both God and nonbelievers’ collective stomachs.

God help us to be the Church You called us to be.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

