Of Grasshoppers and Crybabies

I’ve been reading Numbers 13 and 14 and praying to God that I can be like Caleb and Joshua, a woman who will trust and believe God even when all of hell (and close family members) is against you.

The ten cry babies or spies who rejected God were bogged down by what they saw, ignoring the fruit they had gathered and embracing the lie of perceived circumstances—something I fight everyday NOT to do.

I love what the LORD said about Caleb in Numbers 14:20-24:

20 The LORD replied, “I have forgiven them, as you asked. 21 Nevertheless, as surely as I live and as surely as the glory of the LORD fills the whole earth, 22 not one of those who saw my glory and the signs I performed in Egypt and in the wilderness but who disobeyed me and tested me ten times— 23 not one of them will ever see the land I promised on oath to their ancestors. No one who has treated me with contempt will ever see it. 24 But because my servant Caleb has a different spirit and follows me wholeheartedly, I will bring him into the land he went to, and his descendants will inherit it.

God honored Caleb because Caleb honored God. I want to have that kind of heart toward God and the things He tells me to do. What are some marks of people like Caleb (and Joshua)?

1.) They saw opportunity, not obstacles (i.e. grasshoppers)
2.) They are totally devoted to God
3.) They are willing to go against the majority and with God
4.) They have broken and sensitive spirits
5.) They look to God to fight on their behalf
6.) They are willing to do whatever part gives them to fulfill God’s vision
7.) They are sure of their victory because of God’s power and presence, not their own strength

2 thoughts on “Of Grasshoppers and Crybabies

  1. As one who has developed a certain skill in reading between the lines, I perceive that some people in your life–including some of your family–are discouraging something which you feel called by God to do. Maybe they are trying to get you to rethink your upcoming move to the Big Apple.

    Pray hard about it, and if you are convinced in your own mind that what you are doing is what God wants you to do, then follow Him with boldness.

    Sometimes, friends and family don’t understand. Even Jesus’ family didn’t understand Him.

  2. Louis, you are a man of great wisdom and insight. Some of the students I serve in the school are upset and pulling the emotional blackmail game on me and that has certainly been stressful. But my immediate family has been nothing but supportive and I’m grateful for that. The story of the spies is something I meditate on, however, whenever doubt tries to take me out.

    I’ve certainly been in situations where I felt like, “Man, that would be a great idea” or “Heck, I oughta move there!”. Those “feelings” passed away and I never thought a thing about them afterword.

    But New York just wouldn’t go away. Now instead making cracks about NYC, I’m prone to cry over it and ask God to move mightily in that city and state.

    Thanks again for your thoughtful and powerful insight. Peace.

Leave a Reply

