Am I a Culturally Savvy Christian? A Few Thoughts

I got so excited about Kinnaman and Lyons’ unChristian that I forgot to post some more thoughts on another rim-rocking book that I finished about a month ago.  I posted a few powerful quotes from Dick Staub’s The Culturally Savvy Christian, a book I highly recommend to believers, especially those who are really interested in impacting culture for Christ in a non-cheesy, uncompromising way.

To be honest, I thought this book would suck because the book cover irked me.  But even the cover magnified what really bothered me: the church’s complete baptism in pop cultural references and cheesiness (yes, I’m going to use that word again in this post.).

Staub lays a solid foundation, identifying what our culture looks like and what the current American Christianity looks like.

It ain’t pretty.

As Staub assesses:

It seems fair to say that Jesus would not recognize the message and practices of Christianity-Lite.  When it comes to finding God, in the words of the Beatles, “once there was a way to get back homeward,” but today, the very ones who claim to know the way, the truth, and the life are obscuring the path” (47).

Ouch!

Of all the chapters, I found the chapter “Countering Culture Like Aliens” to be the most powerful.  I have come to accept that there will always be tension between being in and not of the world.  I appreciated Staub’s personal story of the church he grew up in and the Christian subculture that existed there.

I found myself asking, “Am I living a life that merely represents Christian subculture or am I living a counterculture life?

Again, Staub offers:

The ekklesia or koinania (being called out for fellowship) should serve as evidence that people who drink from a deeper well can become deeply well, that broken human spirits can be healed and shattered souls made healthy, that deeply well people can form communities to pursue God in the company of friends (150).

By the time I finished this book, the word “incarnation” was all I could meditate.  Allowing the Living Christ to truly live through us is what people need to experience.  But just as Christ chose to come in human flesh and walk among “us”, so too should our own very lives.  People need to experience Christ in community and relationship.  But first we Christians need to be real enough to live transparent lives  that are permeated by the grace-n-truth-saturated presence of Almighty God.

A culturally savvy Christian who really wants to connect with the lost can’t desire anything less.

Powered by ScribeFire.

One thought on “Am I a Culturally Savvy Christian? A Few Thoughts

Leave a Reply

