regenerate x

build.church.go

Sit Down and Shut Up!

leave a comment »

Over the last week, we’ve been bombarded with sound bites from people in the Clinton and Obama camps spouting off incindiary comments that could come back to haunt the people they claim to support.

To Geraldine Ferraro, I would say be quiet. Stop hating on Obama because you’re peed that you and Walter Mondale stunk it up in the general election against Reagan/Bush I. The few kindergarters who voted for you in those sweetbut meaningless “Now Johhny, who would you vote for if you were of age?” events didn’t know any better. Stop whining. I hate retroactive hateraid.

To Jeremiah Wright, shame on you. I admired you when you preached at my university my freshman year but you’ve fallen off the slope. As a Black woman, I too am not pleased with the way Katrina was handled. I am not please with the institutional racism that still exists in our great country. I am not please with the current administration, which I fully believe to be hindered by a lying spirit that wouldn’t know the truth if it hit them over the head.

Nevertheless, I still love my country.

My father nearly spilled his guts in Vietnam for the country you appear to disdain.

My grandfather, a member of the greatest generation (that would be the generation that didn’t whine and expect somebody to give them something they didn’t deserve), serve faithfully in the army during WWII.

There has to be a better way for you to speak truth to power with the expectation of change God’s way.

But I fear that the gift of political and ideological rhetoric couple with a dash of hubris and plain common un-sense have hindered your ability to preach the gospel. You shock folks. Great.

Now how are we fulfilling the Great COmmission? I have no problem with pastors speaking truth to power so long as they don’t become intoxicated with the very political power they’ve been called to speak to.

Written by missional girl

March 17, 2008 at 10:56 pm

Posted in Just A Thought

Leave a Reply

